Weekly Shabbat Messages

Every week, Jody Hirsh, the JCC's Judaic Education Director, provides a Judaic message that is featured at the top of the JCC's weekly email newsletter. Below is the Shabbat message for Friday, August 22, 2014Click here to view our archived Shabbat messages.

The Secular Shabbat

Even though the majority of Israeli Jews are not religious, the Shabbat has remained a part of even secular Israeli life. The rhythms of Israel, including the calendar and the week, operate entirely on Jewish principals. The day off is Saturday, which is, after all the Jewish Sabbath. All offices, and even most shops and restaurants are closed, especially in Jerusalem. For decades, there was no such thing as a real weekend in Israel. Yes... Saturday night was still a night for going out to restaurants, movies, entertainment, even going downtown and taking a walk on the city streets. But, people went back to work on SUNDAY morning, sometimes staggering in to work after being up late the night before! Today, Israel has a real weekend. Most offices are closed on Fridays, making Friday morning (like our Sunday morning) a day for brunches! And for Israeli people today, the weekend begins THURSDAY night (with many late night entertainments and celebrations), continuing through Saturday night. Friday night and Saturday during the day remain a time for family dinners and family activities.

Even on the secular Kibbutz [the Zionist communal settlement] – that idealized secular society – Friday night and Saturday remain the day of rest. The Friday night dinner is a part of even the secular Kibbutz routine. Muki Tsur, kibbutznick and historian of Zionism once remarked that mysteriously, eating cake rather than bread seemed to be a wide-spread kibbutz tradition on Shabbat mornings. In fact it was so common, that the kibbutz cooks would hide the cakes after they were made so no one would sneak into the kitchen and snack on them before they were served for breakfast. Little did Muki know that this tradition of cake for breakfast on Shabbat was actually a religious tradition: Since there are 3 official “meals” within the religious framework on Shabbat, those three meals have been Friday dinner, Saturday lunch, and a “third meal” late Saturday afternoon. Since a meal is officially defined as one that includes bread, the religious tradition dictates that no bread be eaten before the morning prayers. Therefore, religious Jews ate a breadless meal of cake in the morning, thereby preserving the 3-meal tradition! This tradition translated to cake at breakfast even on the secular kibbutz.

Shabbat Shalom

 

 

 

 

Past Shabbat Messages

Shabbat & Secret Jews - Friday, April 26, 2013

Out of the Land of Heaven - Friday, May 3, 2013

Almost Shavuot - Friday, May 10, 2013

Cakes on Shabbat - Friday, May 17, 2013

Dressing Up for Shabbat (Part I) - Friday, May 24, 2013

Dressing Up for Shabbat (Part II) - Friday, May 31, 2013

Solomon's Temple and the Shabbat - Friday, June 7, 2013

Shabbat Starts When? - Friday, June 14, 2013 & June 13, 2014

Making Commandments Beautiful: Part I - Friday, June 21, 2013

Making Commandments Beautiful: Part 2 - Friday, June 28, 2013

Making Commandments Beautiful: Part 3 - Friday, July 5, 2013

Crypto Jews and the Shabbat - Friday, July 12, 2013

Shabbat Nachamu... The Sabbath of Consolation - Friday, July 19, 2013

Bialik and Kabbalat Shabbat - Friday, July 26, 2013

Angels and Shabbat - Friday, August 2, 2013

Shabbat in the Land of the Midnight Sun - Friday, August 9, 2013

Shabbat in Jerusalem As Told By Jody-  Friday, August 16, 2013

Shabbat in Jerusalem II As Told By Jody - Friday, August 23, 2013

The Streets of Jerusalem - Friday, August 30, 2013

The Final Heat – Closing in on Rosh Hashanah and Shabbat - Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Shabbat and Yom Kippur - Friday, September 13, 2013

Species, Species and More Species - Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Shabbat Breishit - Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Evening & Morning - Friday, October 4, 2013

Singing and the Sabbath - Friday, October 11, 2013 & Friday, May 9, 2014

The Rainy Season - Friday, October 18, 2013

The Triennial Torah Cycle - Friday, October 25, 2013

The Sabbath and the Temple - Friday, November 1, 2013

It Is All In the Timing - Friday, November 8, 2013

Challah - Friday, November 15, 2013

Why is the Challah Braided? - Friday, November 22, 2013

Shabbat, Thanksgivukkah and Beyond - Friday, November 29, 2013

Carrying on Shabbat - Friday, December 6, 2013

Eruv Art - Friday, December 13, 2013

Celebrating the Sabbath in Darkness - Friday, December 20, 2013

Celebrating the Sabbath in Darkness Continued - Friday, December 27, 2013

The First Shabbat of the Year - Friday, January 3, 2014

Shabbat Shirah - Friday, January 10, 2014

Shabbat and Trees - Friday, January 17, 2014

Strangers in our Midst - Friday, January 24, 2014

The Ten Commandments, Part I - Friday, January 31, 2014

The Ten Commandments, Part II - Friday, February 7, 2014

Shabbat, Babylonians, Tacitus, and the Communists - Friday, February 14, 2014

The Shabbat Umbrella - Friday, February 21, 2014

Lighting Shabbat Candles - Friday, February 28, 2014

Philip Roth and Shabbat - Friday, March 7, 2014

Shabbat Zachor - Friday, March 14, 2014

Shabbat in Amsterdam - Friday, March 21, 2014

Ahad Ha’am and the Shabbat - Friday, March 28, 2014

Shabbat at the JCCA Biennial - Friday, April 4, 2014

Shabbat HaGadol – The Great Sabbath - Friday, April 11, 2014

Challah on the Shabbat During Passover? - Friday, April 18, 2014

Shabbat and the Counting of the Omer - Friday, April 25, 2014

Shabbat and the First Yom Ha’Atzmaut - Friday, May 2, 2014

Sabbaths and Sabbaticals - Friday, May 16, 2014

Light and Dark and theShabbat - Friday, May 23, 2014

Learning on Shabbat - Friday, May 30, 2014

The Shabbat After Shavuot - Friday, June 6, 2014

Shabbat in Outer Space - Friday, June 20, 2014

The Longest Friday of the Year - Friday, June 27, 2014

Shabbat and the 4th of July - Friday, July 4, 2014

The Fast of Tammuz - Friday, July 11, 2014

The Three Weeks - Friday, July 18, 2014

Haftarot for the Three Weeks - Friday, July 25, 2014

The Ninth of Av - Friday, August 1, 2014

Sabbath Peace - Friday, August 8, 2014

All You Need is Love - Friday, August 15, 2014

The Secular Shabbat - Friday, August 22, 2014